Unfold Your Own Myth Free Mini-Series

Background: The Unfold Your Own Myth Project is a serial workshop model in self-expression and community reorientation that uses as its catalyst "Lamya’s Poem" (a feature-length animated film aimed at teens and young adults about a Syrian refugee girl who is given a book of poetry by the 13th Century Poet, Rumi, that becomes a magical gateway to meet the young Rumi when he was a boy fleeing the violence of his time and helps him to write the poem that 800 years later saves her life. Unfold Your Own Myth uses the film as a vehicle to leverage the power of story in overcoming trauma and loss among marginalized youth in three struggling communities in America — refugee, immigrant and Muslim.

What will we do in workshops?  We will begin each session by preparing ourselves for reflection and expression. Theatre Maker extraordinaire Keri Egilmez will lead students in mind/body integration warm up exercises. This is for the purpose of anchoring students in a mindful state by helping them focus while accessing their imagination. She does this through exercises that professional performers do before practicing and presenting.

Following that refreshing and deepening experience, Poet Wajiha Khalil will introduce the weekly poetry exercise with examples and tips. Students will have an opportunity to try their own hand at the poetic form, before joining a breakout room with their peers to practice collaborative expression. Students will practice four types of writing & poetic form throughout the series: Journaling, Erasure, Haiku, and Spoken Word. 

Days & Dates: Saturdays. July 9th, 16th, 23rd, 30th.

Time: 1pm EST / 10am PST / 6pm BST / 7pm Egypt / 9pm Dubai

Each class is approximately one hour to an hour and thirty minutes

Class features:

  • Two instructors (performance & writing)
  • Writing & presentation training
  • Access to watch the film Lamya's Poem through Screen Share after the first class
  • A great way to meet friends from all over the world! 

Register today. Seats are limited. 

Sign up here!